Skip to content
August 29, 2010 / blissmarket

My Aichi Triennale 2010 Experience

Maybe the main reason for me to blog this is in order for me to remember what I saw and who are the artists that I personally would like to get to know more based on the works I saw in this event. It was my first time to see such a grand preparation  that concentrates more on the language of the arts. Whether it may be a wall-bound artwork to a more dynamic use of body in order to translate an idea from a given space and time.

This is just a simple documentation and archiving of thoughts I have gathered from the Art Trip I did last August 20 to 25. My first stop was Nagoya, the Aichi Triennale. I was of course excited to see what’s in store for us on the opening. I am pretty much sure that time that it would be nothing I have seen so far, based on the ranges of artists from different countries and of course based on each other’s artists sense of discipline, process and use of material, space and even time. Unfortunately I only stayed there for a day, and it was not enough.  You need at least weeks in order for you to grasp the whole overload of art, statements and ideas scattered in the city of Aichi.

The photos would not give justice to what I have seen and experience. These are just the ones that I was able to capture.  Some of the artists/groups that really made a big impression to me are… Atsuhiko Misawa + Hideki Toyoshima for their Animal sculpture series, Cai Guo-Qiang for his gun powder paintings, Gelitin for their uniqueness and mind blowing ideas, Huang Shih Chieh for his Multimedia Sculptures, Jacob Kirkegaard for his amazing Sand Video Art, Lieko Shiga for her eerie yet meaningful photographs, Shimabuku for his one of a kind documentation of his immersion from one of the fishing village in Aichi, Tom Friedman for his diversity and cool ideas and Zhang Huan for his massive weird looking stuff toy.  Definitely one of the main objective of this Triennale is to let the people know who these artists are and what can they contribute to the art scene.

Another part of my day was watching the performance by Oriza Hirata + Ishiguro Laboratory (Osaka University) entitled In the Heart of a Forest, that includes a Robot as one of the performers.

I also met one Filipino Artist who is part of the Aichi Triennale for the Exhibition through a Competition Category. Gary Ross Pastrana is one of the Filipinos who is included in the Aichi Triennale, he is part of  Hikaru Miyakawa’s project. Also part of the Exhibition through a competition is Mariano Ching under Tan JuiChen’s project.

Hmmm… That’s much about it…  I am really not good with words… so now it’s your turn to look them up.

also visit http://aichitriennale.jp/en/ for more details about the event. 🙂

Leave a Reply

