Skip to content
July 1, 2010 / blissmarket

Day 03: ACAC

*Pls. Click FULL SIZE to view image in actual proportion and size.

I was sent here in Japan by the Japan Foundation, as part of the Jenesys Programme under the Residency for Creators (http://www.jpf.go.jp/e/jenesys/culture/exhibit/index.html). I am here as an Artist-Curator and I was assigned as an Intern Curator for the Aomori Contemporary Art Centre (http://www.acac-aomori.jp/en/index.html).

My work as a an Intern Curator started today, and it was very interesting. I met other Curators and their Artistic Director here in ACAC. 🙂

Here’s a list of the ACAC Staff…

HAMADA, Goji (Artistic Director/Artist)

YAMAGAMI, Masahito (Chief Administrator)

HIGO, Naoko (Administrator)

HINUMA, Teiko (Curator/Artist) *she is the one who is helping me out here for my Jenesys Residency

KONDO, Yuki (Curator)

HATTORI, Hiroyuki (Curator)

SHI, Kei (Technical Director)

KIMURA, Miyuki (Technical Staff)

UMEHARA, Nao (Assistant Administrator)

EMI and TAKAYA (Both working for the Prepartion Office for the Aomori Print Triennale this year)

*i’ll post their photos next time. 🙂

My objectives here are… to understand the Artist-in-Residence (AIR) Program and the Organizational System of ACAC, Learn more about the aim of ACAC and other public cultural projects of Aomori and to Study and Explore the works and basic management skill for AIR Program.

Ms. Teiko or Teiko San gave me an orientation regarding my schedule and how to go about the city of Aomori for my day off.

After the Orientation we visited all the facilities of ACAC and the on-going setup of the “NADEGATA INSTANT PARTY’s 24 OUR TELEVISON” Project that will open on July 3. 🙂

One of the highlights of my first day was when i was assigned to file for archiving purposes, the proposals sent by different artists around the world for the 2010 AIR Program.  I saw a lot of interesting ideas, processes and works by different established, upcoming and enthusiastic artists around the globe. 🙂 Well I only saw 40 proposals today… I will still continue with work tomorrow and the coming days. Imagine 200 proposals and only less than ten are chosen. wow. For an artist like me, this is a very good research… not all Filipinos get a chance to work in an institution that offers AIR program. This will truly be helpful for me and for my colleagues in Manila. 🙂

Tomorrow we are set for an educational workshop for kids.

ACAC is truly a one-of-a kind experience… imagine Nature and Art at the same time while having a very modern and systematic approach on things.

Leave a Reply

